Master Mariner


The Master Mariner competition is an annual event for Ventures & Rovers, first held in 1995.

It is supported and sponsored by the Irish Institute of Master Mariners, the Irish association for seafarers who are professionally qualified ship navigation officers up to and including the rank of Master Mariner, the globally recognised professional qualification required to command large seagoing vessels in international waters.

The IIMM supports the event also by providing examiners, giving participants the unique experience of engaging with a range of professional mariners. Participants often cite the opportunity to interact with the IIMM members as the highlight of the event.

Unlike other competitions in Sea Scouting, the event is an individual one, with all participants completing all elements. While a Sea Scouting event, it is not restricted to Sea Scouts. All Scouting Ireland members are welcome to participate and in 2015 the event had its first non-Sea Scout winner.

The event format has varied over the years, with the current event format including practical boat-handling, desktop navigation exercises and research project elements. It also sometimes includes unmarked experiences, such as a simulator exercise in the National Maritime College in 2015, the familiarisation exercise on a Dublin Port pilot boat in 2021 or the meteorology checkpoint hosted by Met Éireann, the National Weather Service.

Following the change in Scouting Ireland’s age structures, it now contains separate awards for Venture Scouts and Rover Scouts.

Winners (Venture Scouts) – Captain Desmond Fortune ‘Founders Award’
1995: Brian McKenna, 5th Port (Dollymount)
1996: Conor White, 8u Calafort (Dun Laoghaire)
1997: Daniel McNamara, 8u Calafort (Dun Laoghaire)
1998: Anthony Ryan, 8u Calafort (Dun Laoghaire)
1999: Ian Huston, 8u Calafort (Dun Laoghaire)
2000: Stephen Lee, 5th Port (Dollymount)
2001: Maria Tobin, 8u Calafort (Dun Laoghaire)
2002: Gillian Ni Bhroin, 8u Calafort (Dun Laoghaire)
2003: Emer Nic Aoidh, 8u Calafort (Dun Laoghaire)
2004: Lorcain Cameron, 8u Calafort (Dun Laoghaire)
2005: Jane Cathcart, 8u Calafort (Dun Laoghaire)
2006: Donncha O Muirthaille, 8u Calafort (Dun Laoghaire)
2009: Bryony Cameron, 8u Calafort (Dun Laoghaire)
2010: Vincent Varley, 9th Port (Malahide)
2011: Theo Mossop, 8u Calafort (Dun Laoghaire)
2012: Alex Shackleton, 9th Port (Malahide)
2014: Thomas Moore, 5th Port (Dollymount)
2015: Finn McDonnell, 8u Calafort (Dun Laoghaire) and Sam Mullan-Galvin, 4th Cork (Ss Peter and Paul’s) – Venture Scout.
2021: Kate Campion, 9th Port (Malahide)
2022: Dan Clohessy, 9th Port (Malahide)
2023: Cormac Eason, 9th Port (Malahide)

Winners (Rover Scouts) – Captain Cian Timmons Memorial Trophy (from 2023)
2015: Colum McCaffrey, 9th Port (Malahide)
2021: Daragh Hollman, 7th Port (Howth)
2022: Jordan Killen, 9th Port (Malahide)
2023: Óran Ó hIrile, 9th Port (Malahide)

Winners (Practical Skills) – Eoghan Lavelle Cox’n Award
2022: Timmy Flavin, 9th Port (Malahide)
2023: Dan Clohessy, 9th Port (Malahide)


Master Mariner 2024 – Sunday 10th March
Malahide & Howth

2024 Syllabus 
2024 Entry Form